F. S. Mathewson Rotarian of the Year

Rotarian of the Year Award Committee
David Breidinger, Chair
Contact Dave

Click here for a list of recipients to date


 The F. S. Mathewson Rotarian of the Year Award

F. S. "Matty" Mathewson was the District Governor for what was then District 183, a position he held for the 1947-1948 Rotary year. He was a member of the then-Rotary Club of Plainfield, which he joined in 1928 and where he served in many capacities, including President in 1941-1942.

matty mathewson

Matty served Rotary and his club for sixty-five years in both active and advisory roles. He was well known for his adherence to the principles of Rotary and to the rules and regulations that helped make the organization run smoothly. He could always be relied upon to offer sage advice on matters of service, governance, and parliamentary procedures, all of which he offered willingly and with humility.

Matty died on October 9, 1993. At a celebration of his life, PDG Anker Goldmann (1979-1980) remarked "Matty’s life was built around Rotary activities and 'Service Above Self'.  He was always positive in his thinking and never had a negative comment about anyone. We, as members of the Rotary Club of Plainfield, were indeed fortunate to have been associated with the long and positive life of Matty, both as a person and as a true Rotarian."

In 1982, Rotary District 7510 established the Rotarian of the Year Award to recognize and honor those Rotarians in the district who have, over a period of time, best exemplified Rotary's motto of "Service Above Self." The first recipient was PDG F.S. Mathewson, a fitting honor for a man who gave so much to his club, his district, and Rotary International. To further recognize Matty's positive and long-lasting impact on the District, the award was thereafter given in his name.

Earning this award is the highest honor that can be bestowed on a Rotarian by our District. Without exception, every Rotary Club in our District has the opportunity to nominate a member who is worthy of this honor. A committee appointed by the District Governor will meet and select the Rotarian to receive this distinguished award which is presented annually at the District Conference in the spring. 


  • The committee will make their decision based upon, but not limited to the following:
  1. Rotary Club Offices/Positions/Activities

  2. District Offices/Positions/Activities

  3. International Offices/Positions/Activities

  4. Service to the Community

  5. Honors and/or Awards received

  6. Other important data that is submitted

  • Each nominee must have held Rotary membership for at least ten (10) years, have the approval of their Rotary Club's Board of Directors and the nomination form must be signed by the Club President.

  • Past District Governors, current and nominated District Governors and Honorary members are not eligible for this award.

  • Nominations must be sent to the committee Chairman, David Breidinger, no later than January.


David Breidinger, Chairman
F.S. "Matty" Mathewson Rotarian of the Year Award
1717 Langhorne Newtown Road, Suite 302
Langhorne, PA 19047

If you should have any further questions, please contact David Breidinger at 484.398.0141.


The Rotary Foundation is a Top Ten foundation and is our way of giving for those in need. Remember the Foundation in your year-end giving and all year long.

Click on this link or on the image above to go to the Rotary Foundation website.